Lisa Brunetta, Ecofest Artist Showcase

March 22, 2011 at 8:30 am Leave a comment

Dragon sculpture by Lisa Brunetta

This year at Ecofest we are gushing with pride because Lisa Brunetta, Recycle Artist Extraordinaire is joining us!

Although Barrie was her hometown, Lisa was educated and showcased her work throughout Ontario and Quebec. She will be a great asset to Ecofest Barrie as reducing, reusing and recycling are increasingly becoming   components of  her artwork. Below is her Artists Statement that you will find on her website:

“I sculpt in wire and design stained glass and jewellery art pieces. In all mediums I incorporate recycled materials in my work whenever possible, as an extension of my personal reduce, reuse, recycle philosophy.

My approach bridges the divide between art and craft and blursthe distinction between the two. To create my sculptures I stitch, weave and twist wire, using techniques from sewing, weaving, knitting and basket making. I combine craft techniques and materials to obtain art results. My jewellery pieces are often small sculptures. My stained glass creations are conceptual and three-dimensional.

Lisa Brunetta

My work satisfies my overwhelming urge to provide commentary on community, society and the magic and strength of one-from-many. I frequently combine language and visuals to make social commentary with many layers of meaning. A recurring theme in my work is the combination of numerous smaller components to make a larger, more powerful entity. This theme is represented by use of materials and choice of subject matter.

Sculpture enchants me with its technical challenges and its expressiveness as an artistic medium. Members of the animal world (and more particularly avian species) are favourite subjects. I observe human traits in animals – anthropomorphism is frequently present in my work.

I redefine the concept of trash, assign value to the discarded and significance to the insignificant. I hope my art and my philosophies inspire others to pursue their own dreams and aspirations”

Photo: Bugs Galore! Recycled materials workshop

Lisa also teaches a number of workshops, for all ages. Check out her website and you’ll be inspired to make some recycled art of your own!

You can also find Lisa on Facebook or checkout her blog and website (http://lbrunetta.com/) for more Great Eco Artwork!

We are still accepting applications for Visual Artists, click here for more info.

Entry filed under: buy local, City of Barrie, crafters and artisans, eco friendly, ecofest, local economy, ontario, reuse. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Earth Hour, Will 60 Minutes Make A Difference? What Is Happening To Our Bees?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Green Events: Barrie & Surrounding Area

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

What we’re up to on Twitter


