Crafting With Kids For Earth Day

April 21, 2011 at 1:15 pm Leave a comment

I was trying to come up with Earth centered ideas to keep my 3 kids (7,3 and 1) entertained and educated on Earth Day. Among other things, I decided to have a morning of crafts.  The catch is that I want to make crafts that only use things I have or recycled materials.

First on my list is a solar oven

I have been wanting to make this with my kids for a while and hopefully the weather cooperates tomorrow, if not we can still build it and save it for a sunny day! I found plans for a kid friendly solar oven on Home Science Tools. I already have all the very basic materials that are required and the instructions look to be simple enough that I can follow them. The Home Science Tools website also has a great explanation of why it works as well as recipes and tips!

Earth Day Lesson Learned: The power of (clean) solar energy

Second on my list is a playhouse

I have a lot of boxes in my house, and usually just recycle them even though my kids always insist that we should keep them to make something. They will be thrilled when they find out we are stacking them up, fixing them together and decorating them for a playhouse. The plans for the house I will make are on Planetpals. Most of the boxes I have are not the same size or shape, so our house won’t be quite as symmetrical, but I’m excited to see what we come up with and I’ll post the pictures to our facebook page.

Earth Day Lesson Learned: You can get more enjoyment from reusing materials and making your toys than buying new ones.

Third on my list a rainbow made from scraps

Everyday my kids are crafting and cutting and all of their artwork creates a lot of scraps! This project utilizes all those scraps that would otherwise end up in the recycle bin. I first found the idea on ‘No Time For Flashcards‘ blog that has a focus on teaching children though activities and creativity. You’re basically showing the kids to sort out colors and glue them to the right spot on the rainbow. We may do a variation on this but I love the idea of a collage of scraps.

Earth Day Lesson Learned: Think before you toss something out.

I know my kids are going to have a great time re-thinking how our ‘waste’ can be re-used. What are your plans for Earth Day?

Entry filed under: earth day, eco friendly, environmental youth group, kids, recycle, reuse, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Give it up For Earth Day! Are You Gonna Give It Up?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Green Events: Barrie & Surrounding Area

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

What we’re up to on Twitter

Flickr

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

